Your Community Credit Union!

At Arlington Community Federal Credit Union, you’re not a customer; you’re an owner. That means you’re entitled to extraordinary service, exceptional products and perks you won’t find at other financial institutions. And as a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative, our sole mission is to serve you. We pledge to always provide you with personalized, professional and courteous service and to act as responsible stewards of the funds you invest with us.

See if you’re eligible to bank with us!

Our History

In 1952, employees of the Arlington Public Schools formed Arlington Teachers Federal Credit Union. In 1981, the name of the Credit Union was changed to Arlington Schools Federal Credit Union. From 1952 through 1996, the Credit Union exclusively served individuals working at Arlington Public Schools, the Children’s School and members of their immediate families.

Early in 1996, Arlington Schools Federal Credit Union merged with Arlington County Employees Credit Union, further expanding membership. On April 1, 1996, the Credit Union adopted the name, Arlington Virginia Federal Credit Union.

During 2005, Arlington Virginia Federal Credit Union converted to a community charter, allowing AVFCU to broaden its membership base to all those who live, work, worship, go to school, volunteer or consistently do business in Arlington County.

In 2009, in anticipation of the move to the new Headquarters, the Credit Union changed its name to Arlington Community Federal Credit Union. The purpose of the name change was to keep the focus on our goal of serving the entire Arlington Community.

Arlington Community Federal Credit Union has grown through the years into a full service financial institution, serving over 19,000 members of the community and offering services ranging from savings to mortgage loans.

Unlike other financial institutions, our Board of Directors and Supervisory Committee are comprised of volunteers elected from the membership. The Board works with management and staff to ensure solid financial products and services that reflect the needs of the membership.

Board of Directors:

Chair: Dan Murray (Arlington County Police Department)
Vice Chair: Beverly Hawkins
Secretary: Court Curneen (GE Healthcare)
Treasurer: Luis Araya (Arlington County)
Director: Lisa Moore (Arlington Public Schools)
Director: Steve Halkyard (Arlington County)
Director: Suzanne Harvey (Fairfax County Public Schools)

Supervisory Committee:

Chair: Max Montague (Evans Consoles, Inc.)
Member: Stephen Vu (SRA International, Inc.)
Member: Eunita Winkey (Arlington Public Schools)